Tree of Life Meditations – Yesod


          The Tree of Life, in Kabbalah, represents a reality map, a representation of the various levels of the universe, their associated levels of consciousness within us, and their relationships to us and to each other.  [Christopher Penczak – Temple of High Witchcraft] There are 10 sephiroth, each of which is assigned a planet or other sphere of celestial consciousness.  Each is assigned a numerical reference, as well as each representing an emanation of the divine, and can be equated with a specific quality.  The planet associations can be compared to the planets in your natal chart for a more personal experience with how the tree and each sephira can be of use to your growth in this physical existence. 


          The map begins with 3 veils, Ain meaning nothing, ain soph meaning no limit, and ain soph aur meaning limitless light.  There are 4 worlds, each of which has their own tree or set of 10 sephiroth with the spheres of Kether (crown) and Malkuth (manifestation or kingdom) being the connecting spheres.  The 4 worlds are Atziluth meaning nearness as it is closest to the unmanifest divinity or home of the gods and is associated with the element of fire.  Briah is the 2nd and the realm of creation, associated with water.  Yetzirah is formation and air, and Assiah, the world in which we exist physically, is earth and manifestation.  Malkuth in Assiah is the lowest vibration.  Kether in Assiah connects us to Malkuth in Yetzirah, and Kether in Yetzirah connects us to Malkuth in Briah, etc. 

          Together, toe to head, the Trees of the 4 worlds resemble the DNA code of creation or what is called Jacob’s Ladder.  The Court cards of the Tarot represent the 4 worlds in their order. 

9-swords9-wands9-cups9-disks (2)

          The spheres of the Tree in the middle pillar are connected to the chakras in the body, and each of the 10 spheres is also connected to a specific body part.

          The 9th sphere on the Tree is Yesod, called foundation, also known to most pagans and craft practitioners as the astral plane, being the energetic or spiritual foundation of the material world.  Everything physical in this world has a counterpart on the astral plane. To create a particular thing to occur, it must first occur on the astral plane.  Yesod is reactive to the imagination, thoughts, and will.  It is where we shape the foundation of our reality, and when empowered, our creations can then pass through the veil into manifestation in the material realm of Malkuth.

The ruling planet of Yesod is the Moon.

Name of God- Shaddai El Chai

princess scale color is citrine with flecks of azure

Egyptian deities include, Bast, Osirus, Isis, Anubis

Grade of initiation – Theoricus

Animals elephant and turtle

altar is purple and silver.

The cards, the 9 of Swords – cruelty

9 of wands – Strength – lies in its ability to adapt or change perpetually.

9 of cups happiness

9 of disks Gain


The numerology of the number 9 is interesting.  When you multiply any number by 9, then add the resulting digits and reduce them to a single digit, it always becomes a 9. For example, 6 x 9 = 54, reduce 54 to a single digit by adding them together: 5 + 4 = 9. Similarly, 8 x 9 = 72, and 7 + 2 = 9. Or 23 x 9 = 207, 2 + 0 + 7 = 9, and so forth. There is nothing coincidental about this peculiarity. Try it. Any number, no matter how large, multiplied by 9 reduces to 9. From a numerological perspective, the 9 simply takes over, like the infamous body snatchers. Any number that was initially increased by a factor of 9 loses its own identity and instead takes on the characteristics of the 9.

          That’s important to remember – because people with 9 as their life path number can also have that characteristic of losing their own identity in relationships. 

 Chic Cicero writes of the Path of Yesod: 


The spiritual experience of Yesod is the “Vision of the Machinery

of the Universe.” What this implies is that Yesod is the sphere

of the astral light, also known as the akasha. This is the etheric substance

which underlies all dense matter. It is the astral matrix on

which the physical universe is built.

Yesod is the ninth Sephirah and the sphere of the foundation. By

“foundation” we mean the astral foundation or matrix on which all

manifested forms in the physical universe are based and built on. It

is the sphere of the astral plane and the level at which we build up

images in the imagination. Yesod touches on the images and

operations of the unconscious mind—those subconscious body

functions that we are unaware of. The ninth sphere is also the realm

of procreation, biology, intuition, rhythms, tides, and fluctuations.

The moon, the ruler of the instinctive mirad, is attributed here.”


Guided Meditation to Yesod:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s